Creating Your Happiness Arsenal

1 Jun
Smiley Face

Image via Wikipedia

We all fight battles of feeling down as opposed to happy. Over the years I’ve accepted the importance of being able to create my happiness and encourage others to do it as well. We can’t always depend on our circumstances to create joy and should not ever depend on another individual for it, so you need some go to resources to kick your happiness into gear.

Here’s where to start: what never ceases to make you laugh, smile, or at least bring about a sense of calm? What makes you feel accomplished or victorious? Your arsenal needs to be able to successfully bring about these feelings.

Personally, I’ve found that working out is a mandatory part of my arsenal. the reason is two-fold. One it gives me energy and keeps me in shape, making me feel fierce when I don’t have to wriggle into my skinny jeans and can simply just slide them on. Technically it creates endorphins which are the natural feel good drugs for the brain. It also makes me feel empowered to be able to jog 2 miles without passing out.

You may also want your arsenal to include a go to person who never ceases to help you feel good and shake off whatever is affecting your happiness. For me, my brother’s youthful outlook on life never fails me. It always manages to put things into perspective.

At a low point in my life, I felt very alone. After not being able to get off the couch for almost a week, I realized that I needed to develop my source of therapy* that was readily available so that I wouldn’t end up in that position again. I did recognize that while mourning is an allowable part of life, I could not let it consume me and I needed to take responsibility for my happiness. I have favorite movies that never cease to make me smile (from the inside). Doing my own manis/pedis is therapeutic for me. I also get extreme pleasure from music, so I can allow my thoughts to get lost in that medium for a while.  Happiness is something that we must choose. We have to capture it and hold on tight because there are always weights pulling it down. Sometimes those weights come in the form of another person or a job, maybe the feeling of lack or inadequacy. We cannot control those things, but we can control how we respond to those weights. The first step to achieving happiness is accepting that we are responsible for its maintenance. Although personal, we must seize our happiness and defend it with all we have, even if it requires everything in our arsenal.

 

*in no way am I advocating self-therapy as a replacement for professional therapy if so needed.

Leave a Reply

