Birthday Wisdom

15 Jul

So today I am 32. At times this past year has seemed to fly by while some days it crept along, but overall I feel wiser, more confident in who I am as a woman. I am comfortable asserting my opinion and share my observations readily. As I enter into this new year of life, I am pleased with where I am. I wouldn’t have expected to be where I am and actually feel satisfaction, but I do. Today I was asked about what I’ve learned so far in my 32 years, so here it is: 

  1. Take time to get to know yourself
  2. Compromise is a part of life, but always be true to yourself
  3. Some friends are only meant to last for a season
  4. Be careful who you call your friend
  5. Friends are the family that you can choose
  6. Passion is more valuable than money
  7. Don’t be afraid to love
  8. It’s never to late to try something new
  9. It’s never to late to lose weight
  10. Parents are just adults with children, they are not superheroes, they do not know everything
  11. Labels place limits on people
  12. When a person shows you who they are, believe them
  13. Don’t let others define who you are
  14. You are not defined by your profession
  15. Listen to your instincts, they’ll never lie to you
  16. Love does not lie, hurt, or attempt to change you
  17. Most things of value, do not have a price tag attached.
  18. Just because people describe themselves as nice, doesn’t mean they are.
  19. Sexy isn’t something you try to be, you just are.
  20. Mutual committment equals relationship, not titles.
  21. Confidence comes from being honest and accepting of who you are (flaws and all)
  22. Don’t cry victim, take accountability for your actions
  23. Meeting a man’s family doesn’t imply he has plans for a serious relationship with you
  24. There is no beauty product better than water, sleep, and exercise
  25. There is a such thing as second chances, if they are deserving.
  26. Love is an ongoing action, not just a phrase
  27.  Don’t be afraid to say no, but also, don’t be afraid to say yes
  28. When something sucks, don’t hang around hoping things will just get better
  29. Don’t be afraid to speak your mind but never sacrifice tact.
  30. Practice being a good listener, if you want to be heard.
  31. Championing your health is your responsibility. Start early and don’t let fear get in the way.
  32. The measurement of success is personal.
Leave a Reply

