For the Love of Spirulina: Tales of a Junkie

24 Aug
Vitamins!

Image by bradley j via Flickr

I never thought that I’d be so reliant on vitamins/minerals and the like but as I sit here alternating between green and white fragments of the building blocks of my body betwixt sips that would equal 24 ounces of water, I must admit that I have become quite addicted to the little suckers.

Yes, I am a vitamin junkie.

Now my statement is made in jest, but when I don’t take them, I do feel the difference and I swear by them, as they have cured certain feminine ailments and are the base for most of my beauty regime (along with sleep) which have resurrected my hair skin and nails from the dead on several occasions. There is a science to it though and my addiction is firmly based in research in books while using myself as a guinea pig. And I do not, I repeat DO NOT use them in place of nutrients I can get from actual food…

The funny thing is that when I was little I rarely took anything consistently, not even Flinstone vitamins, and as I aged I was too focused on other things to make anything part of my daily regime outside of studying. But with age comes responsibility or in my case the recognition that my body is not as resilient as it used to be, or perhaps I am doing a bit more damage to it than I used to? On second thought, I really doubt that so I’ll definitely let age have this one. I have found though in some way that vitamins give me peace of mind, the reassurance that there really is a solution for my stress, decrease in energy, or excessive hair shedding that does not involve me visiting another health care professional who would “fix” my problem by prescribing me some “wonder drug” that I would come with a barrage of side effects. I never would have thought I’d be the lady that totes around a pill-box and randomly pops pills throughout the day, but while everyone else is busy searching for the fountain of youth, guess what? I think I may have found it :-)!

Leave a Reply

