A Pretzel Story

2 Feb
Typical brands of Potato Chips at a superstore.

Image via Wikipedia

So I’m sitting here, typing and munching on organic pretzel sticks. Not because I wouldn’t rather be enjoying a slice of pizza, but because my body isn’t as forgiving as it used to be, say when I was like 17. Sure potato chips would probably even taste better, but years ago after gaining a considerable amount of weight, I took the responsibility of educating myself on what I was putting into my body.

I approach diet as I would philosophy or any other course for that matter. I have intellectualized it. And although I do still indulge in foods that I like and do still get much pleasure from eating, I realize that what most American’s are probably missing is the educational part of diet. If you just listen in on a conversation about food and you hear someone rationalizing the low-fat cookies they bought so they could eat more or even the 100% fruit juice that they can’t live without because it’s healthy, you’d realize that people are misguided and misinformed about the food they eat.

Primarily I don’t think it’s the what, it’s the how much. However, they are related because if you eat the wrong things, you’ll be hungrier faster and subsequently need more. Now I’m not going to go into my tirade of diet and nutrition (yet) but here’s my advice. Make wise choices with food. Yes, you can still enjoy it, but read the labels and school yourself on what they mean. If a serving is 10 chips and you eat the whole bag, you ate more than a serving. Doesn’t seem like a big deal until you add up all the extra servings of everything you consumed all day. It only takes 3500 calories to make a pound! And only a few extra pounds before a new dimple or roll appears and your clothes don’t fit!

Leave a Reply

